Department of Engineering Science

Our people

Key contacts are listed here. To find contact details for department academic and professional staff, use the staff directory.

Head of Department

Photograph of Professor Rosalind Archer

Professor Rosalind Archer
Phone: +64 9 923 4517


Deputy Heads of Department

Martyn Nash

Professor Martyn Nash
Deputy HoD - Research
Phone: +64 9 923 2550


Dr John Cater
Deputy HoD - Academic
Phone: +64 9 923 7050


See also

Staff directory
All our staff, listed alphabetically with contact details.

Administrative and technical staff
Find out who to contact for administrative or IT queries.

Doctoral students
Meet our doctoral students and find out about their research.

Administrative staff

Photograph of Barbara Bradley

Group Services Coordinator

Kelly Moodie

Phone: +64 9 923 6483

Administration email:


Group Services Administrator

Samantha Huang

Phone: +64 9 923 5052

Undergraduate course advisers

Photograph of Dr Vinod Suresh

Biomedical Engineering specialisation

Dr Vinod Suresh
Phone: +64 9 923 9746

Photograph of Dr John Cater

Engineering Science specialisation

Dr John Cater
Phone: +64 9 923 7050

Photograph of Dr Cameron Walker

Conjoint degrees (Engineering Science)

Associate Professor Cameron Walker
Phone: +64 9 923 7009


Postgraduate course advisers

For enquiries relating to the following programmes of study:

  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Master of Engineering
  • Master of Engineering Studies
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Engineering
Photograph of Dr Charles Unsworth

Associate Professor Charles Unsworth
Phone: +64 9 923 2461

  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Master of Operations Research
  • Master of Energy
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Operations Research
Photograph of Dr Golbon Zakeri

Associate Professor Golbon Zakeri
Phone: +64 9 923 4613

  • Postgraduate Certificate in Geothermal Energy Technology
Photograph of Dr Sadiq Zarrouk

Dr Sadiq Zarrouk
Phone: +64 9 923 5542